Dear Mother

Dear Mom,

I’ve started writing this letter in my head so many times over the past few years.  Just thinking about what the greeting should be stresses me out.  “Dear Mother”? “Dear Danielle”? “Dear Mummy”?…I settled on “Dear Mom” because it seemed to me that it would be the least offensive to you, and the least distasteful for me to say.

It’s been five or six years since we’ve had any communication.  I can’t recall exactly when we last spoke, but I do remember I was in my car, on my way to work.  I remember how angry I was at how pigheaded you were being.  I remember the rage I felt at your defense of your actions; or non-actions.

The main reason I’m sitting down and writing this now, is because my own son, the same boy that I turned my back on you over, has turned his back on me.  What sweet irony no?

My letter to you will need to wait a little bit longer.  Something just came up that I must attend to.  A friend in need.

Leave a Reply

