On Being Thankful

One of the most beautiful things that happened to me lately, is coming to the realization of how thankful I am for the changes I’ve made to my life over the last few years.  The story of how I came to where I am is one for another day, but suffice it to say that being ‘grateful’ was not something that I came by easily; not because I didn’t know how to be thankful, but because I didn’t have much to be thankful for.  Today, that’s different.  Today, I recognize the blessings in my life that make me thankful for so much.

In the past couple of months, my ‘thankfulness’ has surrounded a project that I’ve been involved in.  Unlike my life at my job, where I often feel isolated, and on my own, the project I’m working on through my church (The First Unitarian Church of Baltimore) involves a group of people that are mutually supportive and helpful.  A place where everyone helps, everyone volunteers to help, and everyone supports.  The astounding part of it, for me, is that everyone does all these things un-bidden.  It’s a natural action.  There truly is strength in numbers, and it saddens me to have to spend time in environments where this isn’t the norm.  Now that I’ve experienced it, it’s even tougher for me to think about going into the office on Monday morning and knowing that I’ll once again be an island.

No matter what, I am thankful for the experience I’m having, and thankful for having a spiritual home that provides nourishment to my soul, my mind and my heart.

What are you thankful for today?

 

Leave a Reply

